Decision to ban passengers from six Gulf countries revised subject to five conditions

The disembarkation ban imposed on passengers with recent travel history to Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Kuwait, Bahrain, and Oman during the last 14-days has been lifted subject to several conditions.

The Civil Aviation Authority of Sri Lanka (CAASL) yesterday announced a two-week travel ban on passengers from the above-mentioned countries.

Meanwhile, the Government explained that a high number of passengers from the Middle East testing positive for COVID-19 upon arrival in Sri Lanka was the key reason to impose the travel ban, starting from 1st July.

Cabinet co-spokesman Minister Keheliya Rambukwella said on Tuesday (29) that nearly 110 passengers who had arrived on Monday (28) had tested positive.

“This is of great concern. They arrive with negative PCR test results. Now it is a question of the validity of those PCR tests. Passengers are testing positive upon arrival after a flight of between 3-4 hours. There is an issue and concerns have been raised in this regard,” he said.

However, the CAASL has revoked its previous decision on imposing a ban on passengers from several Gulf countries, based on certain conditions.

Full statement by Director General of the CAASL Capt. Themiya Abeywickrama:


Subject: Removal of restrictions for arrivals from Middle Eastern Countries subject to certain conditions.

I refer to my directive dated 28th June 2021, imposing restrictions on 6 Middle Eastern countries.

In according with instructions received from the Ministry of Health and the National Operations Centre for Prevention of COVID-19 Outbreak (NOCPCO) the passenger restriction on the following 6 Countries (Qatar, Oman, Bahrain, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait) is revoked with immediate effect on the following conditions:

• All arriving passengers must have a negative PCR Test obtained within 96 hours prior to departure. Airline to ensure this before boarding passengers.

• Antigen tests cannot be accepted as a pre-departure test for boarding.

• PCR test must be presented from a Government approved hospital/laboratory in the respective Country with a QR Code/Bar Code.

• Airlines must satisfy themselves of the authenticity of the test reports presented by the passengers.

• Passengers are permitted to arrive only for Hotel Quarantine or through the Sri Lanka Tourism Bio-Bubble Route.

The above conditions will apply until further notice. (NewsWire)


Source From srilankatravel
Author: srilankamiracle
#SriLanka #News #lka